Joery Kragten

Hello everybody, my name is Joery Kragten. I'm 24 years old and I'm currently living in Nijmegen but I grew up in Neerbeek, a small village in the southern part of the provence Limburg. After graduating high school I moved to Nijmegen where I started studying Psychology on the Radboud University. This study didn't fit my main interest so after two years I switched to the Bachelor in History which I completed this summer. I chose for a Bachelor in History because I wanted to get a deeper undestanding in the way people form there ideas and concepts and how they evolve over time. During my study I got inspired by the possibilities of Digital Humanities for both historical research and presentation. Studying History made me aware of how quickly the way we present text and read is changing. I'm excited to learn about the newest developments considering reading, big data and text presentation, so that's how I ended up in Leiden at the master BDMS.

If you don't feel like discussing study related content with me, you'll find out that I love to talk about food, good places for food, authentic food, drinks, homemade drinks and good places for a (homemade) drink. I love sports too, alltough I'm currently not active in one,my mood changes when I get near to a ball. My study in History probably helped making me an huge enthousiast for old towns/cities, art (landscapes, cityscapes), old maps and history based fantasy like Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones.

Oh and I still live in Nijmegen and that is a long journey by train. It is however the centre of my social life and for me it totally worth it to travel up and down every day so please don't feel sorry for me.

Prior Knowledge I knew nothing on forehand of coding text
Expextations I expect to learn the basics of coding an be able to use them myself and get a deeper undestanding of more complicated coding without being able to use it myself